You’re not the Perfect Coach!

Even he's not the Perfect Coach...Close though

And so what?!

Stating the obvious

When you receive your Level 1 Coaching Badge, you are a Level 1 Coach.

Why are you stating the obvious I hear you ask. The reason I made the statement above is because some coaches including myself, have had and will have doubts about their coaching ability.

When you start off, there will be coaching sessions where not everything goes to plan. The kids are not focused, your SSG is not having the desired effect, your setup may have been inappropriate, your delivery may not have been correct. All problems you may encounter when you start out coaching. Don’t worry about it.

You get better with experience.

If I compare my first session to the sessions I conduct now, there is a VAST improvement. However, there are still a lot of aspects of my coaching that could be improved. Coach as many times as possible throughout the week in order to gain more experience. The more times you coach, the more coaching situations you face on a regular basis. You will face different problems and be able to adapt to different situations in the future.

Evaluate Your Session

How many of you can honestly say that you evaluate your session after it has finished? Especially you Level 1 coaches.

It is one of the best tools for self-improvement. Not addressing the problems you encountered during a session will only lead to those problems being repeated in another session. The Coaching Review Sheet in your coaching qualification folder will aid you to deconstruct your session appropriately.

So go and evaluate your last session right now if you haven’t already done so. Improve yourself as a Coach.

Image from: http://spanishfootballsports.blogspot.com/2010/05/jose-mourinho-looks-bound-for-real.html

2 thoughts on “You’re not the Perfect Coach!

  1. So true: evaluation is key if you want to progress and improve. I’ve found it a bit hard following the FA evaluation sheet, but after each session I keep in mind one aspect of the session to improve and I work on it for the coming session. I mean: the FA sheet is really well done as it helps put black on white how your session have been delivered from many perspective, however I’ve found myself finding mistakes for each box and on the end having too many things to improve all together. This is the reason why I now just focus on one thing and I work on it, then next one and so on.

    • Hi Emanuele,

      Just like yourself I have started to tweak how I evaluate my session. I may write down everything I think I could improve but only work on one at a time. I think when you focus on more than 2 or 3 aspects to improve you’re not really working efficiently. However, as long as we are evaluating we are better than the coach we were yesterday.

      Meron

Leave a Reply

